Coverart for item
The Resource Death of a dishonorable gentleman, Tessa Arlen

Death of a dishonorable gentleman, Tessa Arlen

Label
Death of a dishonorable gentleman
Title
Death of a dishonorable gentleman
Statement of responsibility
Tessa Arlen
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Lady Montfort has been planning her annual summer costume ball for months, and with scrupulous care. Pulling together the food, flowers and a thousand other details for one of the most significant social occasions of the year is her happily accepted responsibility. But when her husband's degenerate nephew is found murdered, it's more than the ball that is ruined. In fact, Lady Montfort fears that the official police enquiry, driven by petty snobbery and class prejudice, is pointing towards her son as a potential suspect. Taking matters into her own hands, the rather over-imaginative countess enlists the help of her pragmatic housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, to investigate the case, track down the women that vanished the night of the murder, and clear her son's name. As the two women search for a runaway housemaid and a headstrong young woman, they unearth the hidden lives of Lady Montfort's close friends, servants and family and discover the identity of a murderer hiding in plain sight. In this enchanting debut sure to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Tessa Arlen draws readers into a world exclusively enjoyed by the rich, privileged classes and suffered by the men and women who serve them. Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman is an elegant mystery filled with intriguing characters and fascinating descriptions of Edwardian life--a superb treat for those who love British novels"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Arlen, Tessa
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Countesses
  • Great Britain
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Label
Death of a dishonorable gentleman, Tessa Arlen
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A Thomas Dunne book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2014032395
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 310 pages
Isbn
9781250052490
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014032395
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Label
Death of a dishonorable gentleman, Tessa Arlen
Publication
Note
"A Thomas Dunne book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2014032395
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 310 pages
Isbn
9781250052490
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014032395
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia

Library Locations

    • Central BranchBorrow it
      10 Kercheval Avenue, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, 48236, US
      42.393738 -82.905326
    • Ewald BranchBorrow it
      15175 E. Jefferson, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 48230, US
      42.377005 -82.937270
    • Woods BranchBorrow it
      20680 Mack Ave, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 48236, US
      42.442926 -82.906510
Processing Feedback ...