Coverart for item
The Resource Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim

Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim

Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Title
Abandoned
Title remainder
America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Statement of responsibility
Anne Kim
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But 4.5 million young people or a stunning 11.5 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams. Author Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness including new research from the field of adolescent brain science that "emerging adulthood" is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency. A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward."--Publisher's website
  • "A deeply affecting exposé of America's hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
LNC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kim, Anne
Dewey number
305.2350973
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young adults
  • Problem youth
  • Poor youth
  • Youth
  • United States
  • Poor youth
  • Problem youth
  • Social conditions
  • Young adults
  • Youth
  • United States
Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 197-225) and index
Contents
Embarking -- Drifting: avenues to disconnection -- Anchored: paths to reconnection -- A new youth agenda
Control code
on1139237450
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
241 pages
Isbn
9781620975008
Lccn
2019034594
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1139237450
Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 197-225) and index
Contents
Embarking -- Drifting: avenues to disconnection -- Anchored: paths to reconnection -- A new youth agenda
Control code
on1139237450
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
241 pages
Isbn
9781620975008
Lccn
2019034594
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1139237450

Library Locations

    • Central BranchBorrow it
      10 Kercheval Avenue, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, 48236, US
      42.393738 -82.905326
    • Woods BranchBorrow it
      20680 Mack Ave, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 48236, US
      42.442926 -82.906510
Processing Feedback ...